



80th Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance

Prague University
of Economics and Business
August 21 – 23, 2024
Prague, Czech Republic

International Tax Sheltering and Inequality Call for Papers

Submission Deadline: February 15, 2024

Prospective contributors, both practitioners and academics, are invited to submit papers on any topic within the field of public economics. Selected papers from the 2024 IIPF Congress will be published in a special issue of International Tax and Public Finance. Papers should be submitted through **www.conftool.pro/iipf2024.**







Multinational businesses and sophisticated individuals employ various strategies to shield their income and wealth from taxation by shifting income and assets across international borders. Research on this topic has brought about growing concerns that such sheltering perpetuates or exacerbates inequality: offshore tax sheltering by individuals appears to primarily benefit the very wealthy, while a large part of the tax savings of multinational firms likely benefits their owners and executives. Both legal and illegal forms of sheltering create challenges for measuring inequality across individuals and across countries, because sheltering causes data from tax accounts and tax returns to differ from economic reality. Tax sheltering also hinders revenue mobilization in poorer countries, which exacerbates global inequalities.

Keynote Speakers

Annette Alstadsæter - Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway

Lisa De Simone - University of Texas at Austin, US

Christoph Trebesch - Kiel Institute for the World

Economy, Germany

Fatih Guvenen - University of Minnesota, US

The papers to be presented at the IIPF Congress will be selected by the Scientific Committee. Only completed papers will be considered. Acceptance decisions will be communicated by early April. Presenting authors of accepted papers are required to become members of the IIPF and to confirm their presentation by registering by June 1, 2024. Payment of the annual IIPF membership fee also ensures a reduced registration rate. Presenting authors from lower-income countries may apply for travel grants. For more information about IIPF membership please visit www.iipf.org/mbshp. Selected papers from the 2024 IIPF Congress will be published in a special issue of International Tax and Public Finance. To be considered for publication in this issue, papers must be submitted to the journal by September 15, 2024. Authors who wish to be considered for the IIPF Young Economists Award, the IIPF Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize (both for authors under 40 years), or the International Tax and Public Finance PhD Student Prize should indicate this when submitting papers for presentation. More information on the awards is available at www.iipf.org/awards.

Chairs of Scientific Committee

Dominika Langenmayr - KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Germany **Daniel Reck** - University of Maryland, US

Members of Scientific Committee

Arun Advani - University of Warwick, UK / David Agrawal - University of Kentucky, US / Jacob Bastian - Rutgers University, US / Youssef Benzarti - University of California, Santa Barbara, US / Anne Brockmeyer - World Bank / David Cashin - Federal Reserve Board, US / Ashley C. Craig - Australian National University, Australia / Antoine Ferey -Sciences Po, France / Kai Gehring - University of Bern, Switzerland / Ulrich Glogowsky - University of Linz, Austria / Jacob Goldin - University of Chicago, US / İrem Güçeri - University of Oxford, UK / Andreas Haller - Norwegian School of Economics, Norway / Tatiana Homonoff - New York University, US / Fabian Kindermann - University of Regensburg, Germany / Benjamin Lockwood - University of Pennsylvania, US / Juliana Londoño-Vélez - University of California, Los Angeles, US / Linus Mattauch - Technical University of Berlin, Germany / Jennifer Mayo - University of Missouri, US / Jakob Miethe - University of Munich, Germany / Abdoulaye Ndiaye - New York University, US / Carina Neisser -University of Cologne, Germany / Eric Ohrn - Grinnell University, US / Hirofumi Okoshi - Okayama University, Japan / Andreas Peichl - University of Munich; ifo Institute, Germany / Nadine Riedel - University of Münster, Germany / Dominik Sachs - University of St. Gallen, Switzerland / Mark Schopf - University of Hagen, Germany / Arthur Seibold -University of Mannheim, Germany / Jakob Egholt Søgaard - University of Copenhagen, Denmark / Bridget Stomberg -Indiana University, US / Kristina Strohmaier - University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany / Tejaswi Velayudhan -University of California, Irvine, US / Daniel Waldenström - Research Institute of Industrial Economics Stockholm, Sweden / Caroline Weber - University of Kentucky, US / Simon Wiederhold - Halle Institute for Economic Research, Germany

Chairs of Local Organizing Committee

Lubomír Cingl - Prague University of Economics and Business, Czech Republic

Miroslav Palanský - Charles University, Czech Republic; Tax Justice Network